Is Sushi Gluten-Free?
Ordering sushi can be a little tricky if you’re following a gluten-free diet...but it’s not impossible if you know what to avoid.
First, here are the standard components that should be gluten-free:
🍣 Rice - It’s naturally gluten-free in its plain form.
🍣 Fish - As long as there aren’t additional seasonings or ingredients with gluten, fish on its own is gluten-free.
🍣 Vegetables - Fresh vegetables with no additional ingredients are all gluten-free.
🍣 Seaweed - You’ll usually find sushi rolls wrapped up in seaweed, which is a gluten-free plant.
And here are the things you should pay close attention to and possibly avoid:
❌ Soy Sauce - Surprisingly enough, most soy sauces contain wheat and aren’t gluten-free.
❌ Teriyaki Sauce - It’s common that teriyaki sauce contains soy sauce, which isn’t gluten-free.
❌ Marinated Fish (unagi) - The marinades used are typically soy sauce or soy sauce-based.
❌ Fake Crab Meat (surimi) - It’s common for fake crab meat to contain wheat-based ingredients.
❌ Tempura - The batter used in tempura to coat the fried fish or veggies usually contains wheat.
❌ Rice Vinegar - The National Celiac Association cautions that rice vinegar may contain wheat, but the label on the bottle should tell you.
Leave a Reply.